Celebrating Ordinations 2023

We are delighted to report that the 2023 Petertide Ordinations in the Diocese of Leicester took place this weekend in two joyful services across our parish churches.

Bishop Saju presided on both occasions, ordaining seven priests - Mark, Matthew, David, Katherine, Sharon, Phillippa and Riffat - on Saturday (1 July) at St Mary, Melton Mowbray, and five deacons – Cecilia, Bob, Linda, Geoff and Dave - in a service at All Saints, Loughborough, on Sunday (2 July).

During the week, the candidates came together in retreat at Launde Abbey, in worship, silence and personal preparation, praying for their future ministry around the theme of homecoming.

The fellowship shared stories at the fireside, as well as receiving words of encouragement for the onset of their ministries from Bishop Saju. As you can see from the photo, they also enjoyed a game of cricket with him!

This year’s retreat was led by Revd Vanessa Conant, Team Rector in the Walthamstow Team Ministry, who also preached at both ordination services.

Those ordained Priest:

Mark Batchelor - Evington

Matthew Green - Castle Donington

David Lewis - The Emmaus Parish Team (St John the Baptist, Clarendon Park)

Katherine Marjoribanks - Emmanuel Loughborough

Sharon Plant - Leicester St Anne, St Paul and St Augustine

Phillippa Taylor - The Martyrs

Riffat Zamurad - Groby and Ratby

Those ordained Deacon:

Cecilia Adjadje - Knighton

Bob Edge - Barrow-Upon-Soar with Walton-Le-Wolds

Linda Harwood - The Oadby Great Glen Team Ministry

Geoff Pinnington - Coalville with Bardon Hill and Ravenstone

Dave Rollett - Ordained Pioneer Minister in the Akeley East Deanery

Please pray for all those who have been ordained throughout the Church at this time. Please also pray for the Colleges and Courses where candidates from our Diocese have been trained and for the parishes in which they will continue to serve.

You can read the profiles of all those ordained priest in the Order of Service, here.
You can read the profiles of all those ordained deacon in the Order of Service, here.

First published on: 3rd July 2023
Powered by Church Edit