Vacancy in See Committee

Vacancy in See Committee

last updated on: 11th Jan 2016

The next Bishop of Leicester is to be the Rt Revd Martyn Snow, currently Bishop of Tewkesbury.

A prayer for the new Bishop

Loving God,
in whose hand we are shaped and moulded,
raise up your church in this place, we pray,
and all who serve the diocese of Leicester.
Anoint your people for service
as you call another to be their bishop.
Pour out richly your gifts of unity and fellowship,
that we may glorify your name,
grow deeper in your love
and see your kingdom come.

Why do we need a new Bishop of Leicester?
Rt Revd Tim Stevens retired in July as Bishop of Leicester after 16 years in post. Until the next Bishop of Leicester is appointed, Rt Revd John Holbrook, Bishop of Brixworth, will act as interim bishop.  Full details of the interim arrangements can be found here

How was the new Bishop chosen?
The process for choosing a diocesan bishop began in the diocese. However, because of the variety of roles which diocesan bishops have, not only within the Church of England but also in the local community and the nation at large, the choice is not made by representatives of the diocese alone. Diocesan representatives (known as the ‘Vacancy in See Committee’) work with representatives of the wider Church of England, under the presidency of the Archbishops of Canterbury and York.

What does the Vacancy in See Committee do?
The role of the Vacancy in See Committee is as follows:
• to prepare a brief description of the diocese and a statement setting out the desired qualities of the new Bishop. 
• to elect six diocesan representatives to the Crown Nominations Commission (CNC)

The Committee held a number of meetings between February and May 2015 and also carried out extensive consultations around the diocese to inform its work on the Statement of Needs. The description of the Diocese and the Statement of Needs prepared by the Vacancy in See Committee were considered by the CNC together with feedback from the Appointment Secretaries on the consultation process and information about the needs of the national church.

Who is on this committee?
The Vacancy in See Committees Regulations 1993 require that there shall continue to be in existence at all times a Vacancy in See Committee. The Committee is reconstituted every three years.  For 2016-2018 the members are:
Ex officio members
The Assistant Bishop: Bishop Christopher
The Dean of Leicester: David Monteith
The Archdeacon of Leicester: Tim Stratford
The Archdeacon of Loughborough: David Newman
General Synod member House of Clergy: Alison Booker
General Synod member House of Clergy: Barry Hill
General Synod member House of Clergy: Tim Stratford (dual qualification)
General Synod member House of Laity: Rhian Ainscough
General Synod member House of Laity: Shayne Ardron
General Synod member House of Laity: Jonathan Cryer
Chair of the House of Clergy: Peter Hooper
Chair of the House of Laity: David Wilson (Chair)

Elected, nominated and co-opted members
Elected House of Clergy: Jane Curtis
Elected House of Clergy: Rob Gladstone
Elected House of Clergy: John McGinley
Elected House of Laity: Brian Allard
Elected House of Laity: Margaret Terry
Elected House of Laity: John Waddington
Bishop’s Council nominee: Chrispal Anand
Bishop’s Council nominee: Judith Ellis
Bishop’s Council nominee: Philip O'Reilly
Bishop’s Council nominee: Blossom Thompson
The Diocesan Secretary (Jonathan Kerry) acts as Secretary to the Committee

Crown Nominations Commission
The CNC consists of the two Archbishops (as Chair and Vice-Chair), six members of the General Synod (three clergy, three lay), six members elected by the diocesan Vacancy in See Committee (at least three of them lay), and two Appointments Secretaries (as non-voting members). The Archbishop of the Province presides, although he may delegate presidency of all or part of a meeting to the other Archbishop.  The CNC met twice in September and October and on the second occasion interviewed potential candidates.
When the process is completed and the preferred candidate has accepted the nomination, the Sovereign formally nominates him or her to the See. At this point, the name of the person to be appointed is made public.  The College of Canons of the Cathedral then meets formally to elect the person nominated by the Crown. In electing the person nominated, the College of Canons expresses the consent of the diocese to the outcome of the process of discernment described above, in which the diocesan representatives will have played a full part.

It is then expected that there will be a service of welcome for Bishop Martyn some time after Easter 2016.

A brochure outlining the Statement of Needs for the new Bishop of Leicester can be downloaded here.

Previous Diocesan Bishops:
1927 - 1940 Cyril Bardsley Translated from Peterborough
1940 - 1953 Guy Smith Translated from Willesden
1953 - 1979 Ronald Williams
1979 - 1991 Richard Rutt Translated from St Germans 
1991 - 1999 Tom Butler Translated from Willesden
1999 - 2015 Tim Stevens Translated from Dunwich

Latest Features

Top Links

External Sites

Social Links