General Synod

last updated on: 5th Oct 2015

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England and it replaced the Church Assembly in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure of 1969. The General Synod has powers in the following areas:

  • Legislation by Measure
  • Legislation by Canon
  • Relations with other Churches
  • Liturgy and Doctrinal Assent
  • Deliberation
  • Finance

To visit The General Synod website click here

General Synod elections

Following the close of nominations, the candidates for the General Synod elections are as follows.

Each candidate has produced an election address and you can access this by clicking on the candidate’s name.

House of Clergy

Fr Johannes Arens
Revd Alison Booker
Revd Barry Hill
Revd Peter Hobson
Revd Canon Philip O’Reilly
Revd Andrew Quigley
Revd James Shakespeare
Ven Dr Timothy Stratford
Revd Charlie Styles

House of Laity

Miss Rhian Ainscough
Canon Shayne Ardron
Mrs Claire Bampton
Mrs Susan Boardman-Weston
Mr Jonathan Cryer
Mrs Angela Hunt
Mr Matthew Pitt
Mr David Surtees

The hustings for the elections took place on Tuesday 29 September at St Martins House in Leicester and an audio recording of the addresses can be found

Ballot papers must be returned by 12 noon on Friday 9 October and the count will take place at 2.30pm on Monday 12 October.

For further information about the elections contact Andy Brockbank, St Martins House, 7 Peacock Lane, Leicester LE1 5PZ,, 0116 261 5312.

Latest Features

Top Links

External Sites

Social Links